October 6, 2022

By email to: All county election officials

Re: ACLU Kansas Election Protection Program

Dear County Election Official,

I am writing to inform you that the ACLU of Kansas and Loud Light, with support from Stinson LLP and the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights, will once again be providing assistance to voters through a nonpartisan election protection program during the upcoming 2022 General Elections. Building off the success of our program for the August 2022 Primary Election, we will be assigning volunteers to voting locations in several counties to conduct nonpartisan election protection activities and direct voters experiencing issues at the polls to call our 866-OUR-VOTE hotline.

We are writing well in advance of the General Election with two goals. First, we hope to advise you about the details of our program so that you can adequately prepare and train your poll workers about our presence and roll at the polls. Second, we invite you to be in touch with us in advance of the election to ask questions, raise concerns, and address any issues before our program rolls out on Election Day.

As a reminder, our Election Protection volunteers will be identifiable in two ways. First, they will have a name tag (see Attachment A) and a sign advertising the 866-OUR-VOTE hotline. The volunteers are there to offer information and advice and direct voters to the hotline. They are <u>not</u> there to interfere with elections, or to demand information from voters. To that end, our volunteers are explicitly trained (1) to <u>remain outside the active voting</u> <u>area</u> and (2) that if a voter declines their assistance, such declination ends the conversation. Please be advised that the Secretary of State has interpreted the state electioneering law to allow our Election Protection volunteers to be within 250 feet of the entrance to polling locations as our volunteers are not engaged in electioneering as defined by the statute.

Volunteers will be assigned to voting locations approximately two weeks before the election. <u>If a volunteer has been assigned to a voting</u> <u>location in your county, we will follow up with an additional letter advising</u> <u>you of those locations</u>. Please note, our volunteers may move about during the day depending on voter volume at specific locations. Please ensure that all election workers in your county are advised of our program, how to recognize our volunteers, and that our volunteers are allowed to be within 250 feet of the entrance to the polling location—but not inside the polling area itself.



## Kansas

PO Box 917 Mission, KS 66201 (913) 490-4100 aclukansas.org

Susan Estes President

Micah W. Kubic Executive Director

Brad Stuewe, M.D. Treasurer

Leslie Bissell Secretary

James Bell Amii Castle Robert Eye Brandi Fisher Liz Hueben Mark Johnson Lon Lewis Raymond Rico Joy Springfield Annie Tietze Marie Woodbury *Board of Directors*  Finally, during past elections, having a direct line of communication to the Election Commissioner or County Clerks' offices has helped us resolve voting problems and avoid unnecessary escalation of issues called into our hotline. If your designated contact for your office has changed since the August Primary, please let me know.

It is our hope that our program can supplement the resources already provided by poll workers and your office, and that our offices can work collaboratively in the run up to the election and on Election Day to ensure all qualified individuals are able to cast their ballots. We appreciate your time and all of the great work you do your work to administer fair elections in your county. Please do not hesitate to contact me at <u>sbrett@aclukansas.org</u> or (785) 330-5469, should you have any questions.

We are looking forward to working with you this election season.

Kind regards,

Sharon Brott

Sharon Brett Legal Director of Kansas

CC: Bryan Caskey, Director of Elections, KSOS Clay Barker, General Counsel, KSOS



## Kansas

PO Box 917 Mission, KS 66201 (913) 490-4100 aclukansas.org

Susan Estes President

Micah W. Kubic Executive Director

Brad Stuewe, M.D. Treasurer

Leslie Bissell Secretary

James Bell Amii Castle Robert Eye Brandi Fisher Liz Hueben Mark Johnson Lon Lewis Raymond Rico Joy Springfield Annie Tietze Marie Woodbury *Board of Directors*  C